Twelve Years, Questions and Verses

A poem for my Wife – Rowena

Is it already twelve years and earth revolutions?
Together through a hundred forty four rotations
As sojourners in this fallen world
We build, we thrive, we serve

Do I know before what gives your life meaning?
Yet I tagged you along to where I am going
Did I took you away from a life you aim?
Then surely I’d be the only one to blame

But aren’t we going in one direction?
For we are souls intertwined for one vision
Cherished these words in Amos book
Hand in hand through roads, straight and crooked

Do I remember what I uttered in December?
In His grace, everyday I ponder
When I’ll be thirty-nine or a hundred and nine
My love remains as how it was in 2009

Will I ever get tired of spending time with you?
Queuing in drive thru or sifting ukay at Rizal Avenue
Shopping in Watsons, or sitting in a salon
Are one of our precious times for conversation

Will I ever get bored talking with you?
I like to listen when you laud at what I do
Though oftentimes you lecture and then scold
With your voice that assures, and is oddly bold

Will I get burned-out helping you out?
But that’s what marriage is all about
Loving and helping each other grow
In need and plenty, joy and sorrow

Will I always want to hold your hand?
It’s my confidence when I ran and stand
Or when confused, of what I should be doing
The grip of your palms just keeps me going

Will you always have my admiration?
How could I Ignore your eyes of intuition
That sees me, and what I miss to see
And with mystic force have me agree

Will I ever leave nor forsake you?
As Christ lives in me, that I wont do
And if a time comes for me to get away from you
Will only be to sneak eat for two-pc chicken in McDo

Will I ever stop loving you?
My self answer would be, “hell no!”
As Christ dwells my heart, that I wont do
Acres and acres, I hope you know I love you

Twelve verses for twelve wonderful years
Twelve questions to ponder, a rudder to steer
Here’s to twelve and to more twelves
To more photographs in walls, of ourselves

Leave a comment